Lilac Girls (ISBN: 9781101883075)

Lilac Girls (ISBN: 9781101883075)

de la 87,09 RON 3 oferte

Ofertele pentru produsul

 

Lilac Girls - A Novel (Kelly Martha Hall)(Cartonat) (9781101883075)

87,09 RON
+ 13,00 RON costul livrarii
Livrare: max 1 sapt.
spre magazin »
enbook.ro
 

Lilac Girls - Martha Hall Kelly

112,00 RON
Livrare: max 3 zile
spre magazin »
libristo.ro
 

Lilac Girls

131,00 RON
Detalii de livrare la magazin
spre magazin »
karte.ro
Descrierea produsului
Autor Martha Hall Kelly
Genul Fantezie, Limbi străine

Ați găsit greşeli în descrierea produsului? Vă rugăm să ne trimiteți o notificare!

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline's world is forever changed when Hitler's army invades Poland in September 1939--and then sets its sights on France. An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences. For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power. The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbruck, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents--from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland--as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten. USA Today "New and Noteworthy" Book - LibraryReads Top Ten Pick "Harrowing ... Lilac illuminates. "--People "A compelling, page-turning narrative ... Lilac Girls falls squarely into the groundbreaking category of fiction that re-examines history from a fresh, female point of view. It's smart, thoughtful and also just an old-fashioned good read. "--Fort Worth Star-Telegram "A powerful story for readers everywhere ... Martha Hall Kelly has brought readers a firsthand glimpse into one of history's most frightening memories. A novel that brings to life what these women and many others suffered... I was moved to tears. "--San Francisco Book Review "Extremely moving and memorable ... This impressive debut should appeal strongly to historical fiction readers and to book clubs that adored Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See. "--Library Journal (starred review) " A] compelling first novel ... This is a page-turner demonstrating the tests and triumphs civilians faced during war, complemented by Kelly's vivid depiction of history and excellent characters. "--Publishers Weekly "Kelly vividly re-creates the world of Ravensbruck. "--Kirkus Reviews"Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of history--women's history--that should never be forgotten. "--Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author of China Dolls "Profound, unsettling, and thoroughly ... the best book I've read all year. "--Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Păreri
Intrebari&Raspunsuri

Prețurile și informațiile de pe paginile noastre sunt furnizate de magazinele partenere și au caracter informativ, unele erori pot apărea. Imaginile produselor au caracter informativ, uneori pot include niște accesorii care nu sunt mereu incluse în pachetul de baza. Informațiile aferente produsului (imagine, descriere, preț) se pot schimba fără notificare prealabilă. Compari.ro nu își asumă responsabilitate pentru eventualele greșeli.